Dairy Development Department was established in 1962 with the aim of extending profitable dairy farming in Kerala to increase the milk production and per capita consumption of milk.


The history of the Department of agriculture in Kerala also depicts the agrarian history of the State. The Department of Agriculture was started functioning in the erstwhile Travancore on 27th May 1908. The Department of Agriculture in its present set up is functioning from 1987 for the overall development of agriculture in the State.


Soil and water conservation activities were initiated in the State during the first plan period in 1955. Considering the importance of natural resource conservation activities, the Department of Soil Conservation was constituted with Dr.M.S.Nair as the Director during 1963. Subsequently during 1969, the Department was made as an independent unit by the State Government and has been functioning since then as two wings of Soil Conservation and Soil Survey. The Department has played a pivotal role in prioritizing, delineating and implementing various watershed based programmes in the State


Kerala holds the number one place in the country’s fishery economy. The three estate of the fishery economy, Viz the water resources, the fish resources and the human resources are at their best in the Kerala fishery economy. All our efforts to the development, conservation and perpetuation of these estates of our fishery economy were pioneered by Kerala. Governance of the Fisheries sector is vested with the Minister of Fisheries. All the development and management programmes envisaged by the Government in the Fisheries sector are being implemented by the State Department of Fisheries. The Department of Fisheries is headed by the Director of Fisheries.


The Kerala State Animal Husbandry Directorate is housed in Vikas Bhavan, Thiruvananthapuram.


The Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) is an autonomous organisation under the Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE), Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare , Government of India. Formerly known as Imperial Council of Agricultural Research, it was established on 16 July 1929 as a registered society under the Societies Registration Act, 1860 in pursuance of the report of the Royal Commission on Agriculture. The ICAR has its headquarters at New Delhi.


Disclaimer | Copyright Policy | Privacy Policy | Terms and Condition

ATMA (Agricultural Technology Management Agency )
Collectorate, Civil Station,
Kollam - 691013, Kerala, India
Ph : 0474-2792080